Light Award

 

BACKGROUND

Nurturing a new breed of leaders showcases practical results through immediate action taken by those empowered; and there is no better way to picture this than seeing youth taking entrepreneurial paths.

LIGHT AWARD, an annual youth entrepreneurship competition, is meant to spark the entrepreneurship spirit in youth, putting them in pathways of community problem solving as they initiate activities that, initially, render them autonomous, job creation oriented, and leaders; as well as contributors to the prosperity of the national economy, by rewarding winning ideas/projects financially, coaching/follow-up, free online promotion and referrals/recommendation as to open further doors, having given them a leverage needed to kick off with their ventures.

On April 22nd 2018, we successfully held the first edition on the LIGHT AWARD; three best projects got financial support to take off with their entrepreneurial ventures; together with the additional 5 finalists, they received 2 months coaching with a local partner, an incubator (Burundi Business Incubator). We hosted 4 intense coaching sessions on Business plan writing, Design thinking and strategic communication, empowering over 1.500 youth across Burundi.

 

OBJECTIVES

  • –  Provide a platform for intense entrepreneurship coaching to empower youth; to comply with SDG 4 “Quality Education”
  • –  Create a culture that ignite youth’s initiative and service through the Light Award contest to take transformative actions in the community; SDG 8” Decent work and Economic Growth”

–  Create a platform and a Chanel through which promising youth projects shall meet investments and contribute to the regional economic rise; SDG 8 & SDG 17 “Partnership for achieving SDGs”

 

ACTIVITIES & PROCESS

A. Training & Coaching: This segment covers entrepreneurship courses, digital marketing courses, Business Plan workshops, Design thinking and Communication coaching.
In addition to the above, some seminar & conferences to raise awareness shall be organized in different institutions around Burundi.

 

B. LIGHT AWARD CONTEST, proceed as follows:

  1. Online application: a Google form intended for data collection and statistics purposes, where applicants shall fill in their personal details as well as a brief description of their idea/project;
  2. First short listing: the jury, made of 3 specialists, shall read through the applications and shortlist best applications to go for the next phase.
    The outcomes shall be emailed to all applicants about the status of their applications.
  3. First pitch (private): this is meant for the shortlisted applicants to privately pitch their projects/ideas in front of the jury; which jury shall select up to 8 best projects to be pitched in front of the audience for the Finals.Three (3) projects per category shall be selected thereof to berewarded the Light Award prize.

AWARD CATEGORIES

  1. Social Innovation/Entrepreneurship
  2. Visual & Creative Art: Photos that tell stories to promote social inclusionand create a new narrative for Africa;
  3. Agribusiness;
  4. 20 Most Influential Women Social Impact Award (SDG 5 ”Genderequality: Women Empowerment”);
  5. 30 Most Influential youth leading social change: to promote transformative actions and recognize efforts to contributing in youth empowerment, women empowerment and service beyond self abroad (foreigners making a difference off home, to promote social integration).

 

CRITERIA [These criteria apply for categories 1 to 3]

  • –  Being a student enrolled in one of Universities/High-school in Burundi
  • –  Have an original idea or a running initiative/business not older than 1year
  • –  Willing to register the business within the 2 following months (Ifapplicable)

Light Award

 

APERÇU

Former une nouvelle catégorie de leaders doit absolument résulter a la prise d’action concrète prouvant ainsi le vrai travail de transformation accompli; et ceci s’affiche le mieux qu’en voyant des initiatives entrepreneuriales des jeunes.

LIGHT AWARD, une compétition annuelle d’idée entrepreneuriales pour jeunes, a été conçu afin de déclencher l’esprit d’entreprise dans la jeunesse, les mettant sur la voie de création des solutions faces aux problèmes de leurs communautés, qui, initialement les rendra autonome, créateur d’emploi, et leaders en cours du processus; contribuant ainsi à la prospérité de l’économie nationale. En récompensant les meilleures idées et/ou projets financièrement, un coaching approprié et suivis, une promotion gratuite et des recommandations qui leur permettront d’ouvrir des opportunités ainsi que lancer leur aventures entrepreneuriales.

Le 22 Avril 2108, nous avions organisés la première édition du Light Award avec succès; les trois meilleures idées ont reçu un soutien financier pour démarrer leur aventure entrepreneuriale; ensemble avec les 5 autres finalistes, ils ont eu 2 mois de coaching avec un des nos partenaires locaux qui est un incubateur (Burundi Business Incubator). Nous avions en plus organisés 4 séances de coaching intense sur la rédaction d’un plan d’affaire bancable, le « design thinking », la communication stratégique et la levée de capital initial, cela renforçant la capacité de plus de 1.500 jeunes à travers le Burundi.

OBJECTIFS

  • Fournir une plateforme de coaching intense et promotion de l’entrepreneuriat; en se conformant à l’Objectif de Développement Durable 4 “Education de qualité”
  • Créer une culture qui déclenche l’esprit innovateur des jeunes et le service à travers la compétition Light Award prendre des actions transformatrices dans la communauté; ODD 8 « Travail décent et croissance économique”
  • Créer une plateforme et canal au travers duquel les projets prometteurs des jeunes pourront rencontrer des investissements afin de contribuer au redressement de l’économie régionale ; ODD 8 & ODD 17 « Partenariat pour réaliser les ODD »

ACTIVITÉS & PROCÉDURE

A. LA FORMATION & LE COACHING: Cette section a pour objectif de dispenser des coaching en Entrepreneuriat, Marketing digital, Rédaction de plan d’affaire, Design Thinking et en Communication.

En plus de cela, un bon nombre de séminaires et conférences seront organisés au sein des différentes institutions au Burundi.

B. LA COMPETITION LIGHT AWARD, procède comme suit:
1. Application en ligne: un formulaire Google intendant à collecter les données et pour des raisons de statistique par où les appliquant compléterons leur informations personnelles aussi bien qu’une brève

description de leur idée ou projet.
2. La première sélection: le jury, fait de 3 spécialistes, lira en entièreté les

applications et sélectionner les meilleurs candidats pour la prochaine phase. Les résultats seront communiqués par email à tous les appliquants à propos de son statu.

3. Premier présentation oral (privé): il sera demandé aux candidats ayant été sélectionnés de présenter oralement leur projet ou business devant un jury; qui sera demandé d’en choisir un maximum de 8 qui vont présenter devant une audience pour la finale, après une phase de vote en ligne par le public.

Ensuite, trois projets par catégorie vont être sélectionnés pour recevoir le prix Light Award.

CATEGORIE DES PRIX

  1. Innovation social et Entreprenariat classique
  2. Art Visuel & Créatif : Photos that tell stories to promote social inclusionand create a new narrative for Africa;
  3. Agribusiness;
  4. Le prix 20 femmes les plus activement impliquées socialement (ODD 5”Egalité du genre: Promotion de la femme”);
  5. Le Prix 30 jeunes les plus activement impliqué dans le changementsocial: pour promouvoir les actions transformatrices et reconnaître les efforts dans la contribution de renforcement des capacités de la jeunesse, soutien aux femmes et le service désintéressés (aux étrangers qui font la différence en dehors de chez eux, pour promouvoir l’intégration social).

CRITERES:

[Ces critères sont applicables aux catégories 1 à 3]

  • –  Etre un étudiant inscrit dans une institution universitaire ou une école au Burundi
  • –  Avoir une idée original ou diriger une initiative ou un business qui a moins d’une année
  • –  Vouloir enregistrer le business dans les 2 prochains mois. (Facultatif)

PARTENAIRES Partenaires Exécutifs

  1. Université Lumière de Bujumbura : Hôte
  2. Spears Connect : Conception et implémentation

Partenaires Opérationnels

  1. Ambassade des Etats-Unis d’Amérique au Burundi
  2. Burundi Business Incubator